A modular ward counts when it is staffed and open
Count a modular hospital expansion as operational capacity only when beds are open, staffed and available to eligible patients. A design or funding announcement establishes intended capacity; construction establishes physical space; an opening announcement establishes a service milestone. None alone proves that every designed bed is available for care. NHS England’s bed-counting rules offer a practical test: include beds only when they meet the reporting definition and are staffed, and exclude closed beds. [1] [2]
- DHSC announced a 32-bed modular ward at Northwick Park in August 2023, with most programme schemes expected to finish by January 2024. The trust later reported the unit operational from the end of April 2024 and officially opened in July, but gave no daily staffed-bed count. [1] [5]
- NHS England’s KH03 rules require counted beds to be staffed, consultant-led beds for NHS patients, and exclude closed beds, even if they could open at short notice. [2]
- University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust reported that its new modular Bantham ward had opened and could facilitate 24 patients, but did not state how many beds were staffed or available each day. [3]
- KH03 publishes average beds per day from available bed-days, so a quarterly average describes capacity over time rather than the building’s designed maximum. [2]
What did the Northwick Park announcement establish?
The Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) announced £250 million for NHS capacity on 15 August 2023. It said the funding would create 900 beds and that 30 NHS organisations would benefit from the investment. The release described a 32-bed modular acute medical ward at Northwick Park Hospital as being created with a £22.6 million investment. It expected most schemes to be completed by January 2024. Those are the announcement’s scope, amount and timetable, not a trust-confirmed count of beds open for patients. [1]
The distinction matters because the 900-bed total covered different interventions. DHSC said the programme also included intermediate-care beds, improved assessment spaces and accident and emergency cubicles, as well as urgent treatment and same-day emergency care services. A headline total can therefore combine capacity types that do not all function as inpatient ward beds. Report the stated category and denominator instead of presenting the whole allocation as a count of newly staffed ward beds. [1]
What counts as an available bed?
NHS England’s KH03 quarterly collection counts consultant-led beds managed by the reporting provider for NHS patients. Its guidance says beds must be staffed to count; closed beds are excluded, including beds that might be opened at short notice. The collection distinguishes beds open overnight from day-only beds, so a capacity claim should state which type it covers. These rules make the staffing and opening status part of the number, not optional context. [2]
KH03 records bed-days and publishes average beds per day for the quarter. If a ward has 24 eligible beds open and staffed every day of a 90-day quarter, that would contribute 2,160 available bed-days and an average of 24 beds per day. If all 24 were staffed for only 45 days, the average would be 12. This illustration assumes a constant number of beds on the days the ward is open; it is not a claim about any named hospital. It shows why a snapshot of maximum design capacity and a quarterly operational average answer different questions. [2]
What does a ward opening prove?
A trust’s opening report can confirm that a facility has moved beyond plans, but the report still needs to specify bed availability before its stated capacity can be treated as operational. University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust said in December 2023 that Bantham, a new orthopaedic ward in a two-storey modular building, had opened. It said the ward could facilitate 24 patients. The same report discussed three operating theatres as future work; it did not give a daily staffed-bed count for Bantham. The evidence supports “opened” and “capacity for 24 patients,” not an assumption that 24 beds were staffed on every day. [3]
Northwick Park’s records show three distinct stages. Brent Health and Wellbeing Board minutes in July 2023 recorded a plan and bid for a 32-bed acute medical unit. DHSC’s August 2023 announcement described a 32-bed modular ward and expected most schemes to finish by January 2024. London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust reported that the 32-bed unit had been operational since the end of April 2024 and officially opened on 30 July 2024. The trust described a seven-day consultant-led service but did not state how many beds were staffed on each day. Its notice also does not call the unit modular. The evidence confirms an operational unit, not a daily count of staffed beds. [1] [4] [5]
How should a capacity claim be reported?
Separate the number into three dated stages: designed or announced beds; beds in a completed and opened ward; and beds actually staffed and available for care. Name the reporting period and type of bed, and use the trust’s operational figure where available. For a sustained capacity claim, compare the trust’s available-bed data before and after the change, while stating that KH03 reports provider-level totals by sector rather than a breakdown for each ward. Do not equate occupied beds with available capacity: occupancy describes use, while available bed-days measure beds that could be used. [1] [2]
The practical test is simple: ask what record supports the number, what date and period it covers, and whether staff were in place for those beds. If the evidence stops at funding, construction or a ribbon-cutting, report that stage precisely. Reserve “operational capacity” for the staffed beds the trust says were available to patients. [2] [3]